Flood Insurance

Flood damage is not typically covered by homeowners' insurance policies, so it's important to purchase a flood insurance policy to protect your investment from floods associated with monsoons and other heavy rains that impact Arizona. Just because you haven't experienced a flood in the past, doesn't mean you won't in the future.

National Flood Insurance Program

The National Flood Insurance Program, or NFIP for short, offers flood insurance, which can be purchased through the insurance agent who handles your homeowners' insurance policy. Rates are set and do not differ from company to company or agent to agent. These rates depend on many factors, which include the date and type of construction of your home, along with your building's level of risk.

NFIP flood insurance policies are available to homeowners, renters, condo owners/renters, and commercial owners/renters.

For more information, contact your insurance agent, visit FloodSmart or the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

  1. Building coverage includes:
  2. Content coverage includes:
  3. What's not covered?

Flooding 2.15.05 Wickenburg

  • The insured building and its foundation
  • The electrical and plumbing systems 
  • Central air conditioning equipment, furnaces and water heaters
  • Refrigerators, cooking stoves and built-in appliances such as dishwashers
  • Permanently installed carpeting over unfinished flooring

Community Rating System

The National Flood Insurance Program's Community Rating System is a voluntary incentive program that recognizes communities for implementing floodplain management practices that exceed the federal minimum requirements of the NFIP to provide protection from flooding. In exchange for a community's proactive efforts to reduce flood risk, policyholders can receive reduced flood insurance premiums for buildings in the community. These reduced premiums reflect the reduced flood risk resulting from community efforts toward achieving the three CRS goals:

  1. Reduce flood damage to insurable property. 
  2. Strengthen and support the insurance aspects of the NFIP. 
  3. Encourage a comprehensive approach to floodplain management.

Flash Flood Area

The Flood Control District of Maricopa County has participated in this program since 1991. Through the annual accreditation process, the District is now at Class 4, which gives residents of unincorporated Maricopa County up to a 30 percent discount on their flood insurance. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and local documentation is available at the Maricopa County’s Flood Control District and the Southwest Regional Library. Also, you can learn more about the NFIP and its Community Rating System at www.floodsmart.gov.

Read Flood Facts, the CRS Newsletter